If you have been wondering whether you can get a DUI for marijuana in Florida, you’ve come to the right place. A qualified Sarasota DUI lawyer can give you the answers you’ve been looking for.
You probably know that you can face serious consequences for getting behind the wheel while drunk, but you may not know what the penalties will be, if any, for driving under the influence of marijuana. And if you are arrested, what will happen?
Experienced Sarasota DUI lawyer, Michael Fayard, Attorney at Law, can not only provide you with the answers you need, but he may also be able to help defend you if you find yourself facing criminal charges for drunk or drugged driving. Continue reading to learn more about marijuana laws in Florida and the consequences of driving after consuming marijuana products.
Florida Marijuana Laws
Marijuana use is not legal for recreational use in Florida, but even if it was, you wouldn’t be legally allowed to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of marijuana.
Driving under the influence (DUI) in Florida includes being in physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. For this reason, you can certainly be arrested and charged with a DUI for marijuana in Florida.
It is important to keep in mind, however, that there is currently no testing that can determine whether an individual is under the influence of marijuana. Current drug tests can only show whether the drug is in your system, not when you consumed it. Marijuana can remain in your system for up to a month after being consumed, so testing is still imperfect.
Legal Penalties for a Drugged Driving in Sarasota
Individuals who are charged with a DUI for marijuana will face the same consequences as those who have been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol. The consequences are determined by whether you are a first-time or repeat offender.
First-time offenders could have their license suspended for up to one year, pay fines up to $1,000, spend a maximum of six months in jail, and be ordered to complete fifty hours of community service. Repeat offenders face more serious penalties including permanent revocation of their license, fines up to $5,000, fifty hours of community service, and up to five years in prison.
If your drugged driving incident involved a minor, or caused another individual serious injury or death, your consequences may be substantially more severe.
Reach Out to a DUI Lawyer in Sarasota
If you have been arrested for drugged driving and need a Sarasota DUI lawyer to defend you, get help from Michael Fayard, Attorney at Law. I am proud to offer free consultations to individuals in need of a criminal defense.
You can take advantage of this opportunity and give my office a call at 941-306-1310 or submit the online contact form provided at the bottom of this page when you are ready to get started on your case.