When you’ve been arrested for harassment, you might be wondering what will happen next. Get in touch with a harassment lawyer in Sarasota for more information and to prepare your legal defense.
Harassment is a serious crime. The consequences can have an impact not only legally, but on your reputation as well. Many people may not even be sure what constitutes harassing behaviors and therefore may not know they are breaking the law. Fortunately, a Sarasota harassment lawyer may be able to help you avoid a guilty verdict that could significantly disrupt your life.
Michael Fayard, Attorney at Law is prepared to take on your criminal defense case. When you need a harassment lawyer you can count on to tell you what happens when you get charged with harassment, you can rely on the honesty and integrity of Attorney Fayard. Continue reading to learn more about what is considered harassment in Florida and what penalties you could face if you are found guilty.
What Constitutes Harassment in Florida?
As a general rule, a person can be charged with harassment in Florida if they willfully cause another person emotional distress for no legitimate purpose. This could include:
- Cyber threats
- Sexual harassment
- Quid pro quo in the workplace
- Verbal assault
These are just a couple examples of the forms harassment can take. If you have been arrested and charged with harassment, you should speak with a lawyer to figure out how to best move forward with a defense strategy.
Legal Consequences for a Harassment Conviction in Sarasota
If you are convicted of harassment, the penalties you will face will be based on whether you were charged with a first-degree misdemeanor or a third-degree felony. Felony charges are more severe than misdemeanors, so you can expect the penalties to be more devastating.
If you were charged with a first-degree misdemeanor, you could spend up to twelve months in jail, twelve months on probation, and be required to pay a $1,000 fine. Conversely, if you were charged with a third-degree felony, you could be ordered to pay a $5,000 fine and spend a maximum of five years in a Florida state prison.
The key to being able to escape these consequences is to be found not guilty in court or accept a plea agreement, depending on the circumstances of your case. Your lawyer can determine how to best defend your case after reviewing the evidence and details of the harassment charges.
Plan Your Defense Strategy with a Sarasota Harassment Lawyer
If you are interested in learning more about what happens when you get charged with harassment, or for more information about the legal consequences, you can reach out to dedicated Sarasota harassment lawyer Michael Fayard, Attorney at Law.
You can complete the convenient contact form provided at the bottom of this page or give our office a call at 941-306-1310 when you are ready to get started on your case.